Tuesday, April 25, 2006

Winterhouse Awards for Design Writing & Criticism

An initiative of AIGA and the Winterhouse Institute

The Winterhouse Awards for Design Writing & Criticism seek to increase the understanding and appreciation of design, both within the profession and throughout American life. A program of AIGA, these annual awards have been funded by Jessica Helfand and William Drenttel of the Winterhouse Institute to recognize excellence in writing about design and encourage the development of young voices in design writing, commentary and criticism.

There are two types of awards:

Writing award of $5,000
Open to writers, critics, scholars, historians, journalists and designers and given for a body of work.

Education award of $1,000
Open to students (undergraduate or graduate) whose use of writing, in the interest of making visual work or scholarship or cultural observation, demonstrates extraordinary originality and promise. (Your thesis paper, among others, may be perfect for this!)

The deadline for both type of awards is June 30, 2006.

This awards program is part of a larger AIGA initiative to stimulate new levels of design awareness and critical thinking about design. The 2006 awards will be presented at the AIGA Design Legends Gala on October 25, 2006 in New York City.

Download the poster and learn more about this great opportunity!

No comments: